Richardson DWI Lawyers
Powerful Defense to Protect Your Rights
Here in Richardson, G.J. Chavez & Associates, P.C. is keenly aware at how stringent the state of Texas has become on those people who have been charged of operating or driving a vehicle under the influence. Those who have been accused of “Driving While Intoxicated” (DWI) are sure to have a difficult time proving their innocence without dedicated Richardson DWI attorneys. Texas government has increasingly set harsher penalties.
If you are convicted, you can expect to pay fines amounting to several thousands of dollars, along with jail time, and a potential suspension of your driver’s license. Having your license revoked would mean you would have difficulty getting back on your feet even after paying a steep price. Do not waste any time in getting in touch with our dedicated team. We are devoted to protecting your rights and your liberty following a DWI charge.
Contact us now at (972) 460-9300 the moment you encounter a charge for driving while intoxicated in Texas.
Crucial DWI Laws
According to the Texas Penal Code § 49.04, there are some key limits of alcohol content that you are permitted to have in your system while operating a motor vehicle.
The Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limits include:
- Less than 0.08 if you are an adult
- Less than .04 if you are an adult and also a commercial driver
- Zero tolerance for minors
There are other offenses you could incur besides just breaking these initial laws. If you refuse to submit to sobriety test, you could have your license suspended, and if you have a child passenger, you will be charged with a state felony. Moreover, the higher your BAC percentage, or the more offenses you incur, the higher your penalty will be.
Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated in the State of Texas
Texas law has placed harsh penalties in order to prevent people from driving after they have alcohol in their system. This is to possibly stop so many dangerous collisions which arise from DWI accidents. On account of this, Texas has instituted a policy of zero-tolerance for any minor who is driving after drinking. If a minor is found to have even the smallest amount of alcohol in their system while driving, then that minor can be charged with a strict punishment.
First time offenders will often receive suspensions of their driver’s license lasting up to a whole year. They will also usually need to pay a fine of $500, regularly participate in an Alcohol Education Program, and serve the community for 90 days.
If you are an adult convicted of a DWI, you will be punished more severely. Your license could be suspended for 2 years, you could pay a fine of $2000, and you could even be incarcerated for up to 180 days, unless your attorneys are able to provide a powerful defense.
It is never a good idea to hesitate to obtain an aggressive legal defense from our Richardson DWI lawyers, especially if you have been charged with a DWI. DWI convictions will create permanent stains on your record if you do not fight them, and in many cases, an arrest of this nature cannot be expunged.
Flexible Payment Options Available
Our Firm Has Handled Thousands of Cases
We Are Dedicated to Serving Our Clients
We Create Tailor-Made Solutions for Every Client
More Than 20 Years of Legal Experience
We Offer Representation in Spanish